Archivaria                 Contact us

Members                   Volunteer

  • HOME
  • Board of Directors - archived

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the legal authority for the Association of Canadian Archivists. The members of the Board act in a position of trust for the community and is responsible for the effective governance of the organization. The ACA Board includes a minimum of 6 members, including:

  • President
  • Vice-President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Director-at-Large (1)
  • Director-at-Large (2)
  • Director-at-Large (3)

Each elected Board members serves a two-year term. 2020 will be a transition year as three Board members will begin their terms following the in July 2020 and the President elect will begin in the January following the annual elections. The President, Treasurer, and Director-at-Large (1 & 3) are elected in even years; the Vice-President, Secretary, and Director-at-Large (2) are elected in odd years.

For a full list of Board positions and descriptions, see here.

For a list of past Board of Directors, please view the Past Board of Directors PDF document.

2022 - 2023 Board of Directors

President: Erica Hernández-Read

Erica Hernández-Read,  has been an archivist with the Northern BC Archives and Special Collections at the University of Northern British Columbia since 2006. She earned both her BA in Anthropology and her Master's degree in Archival Studies from UBC and has spent the last 20 years working in the fields of archives and artifactual collections management. Erica advocates for a participatory and community-archiving approach to knowledge building. She is the co-Chair of the Response to the Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Task Force of the Steering      Committee on Canada's Archives, and a member of the Indiginization Program Steering Committee.

Vice President: Anna Gibson Hollow

Anna Gibson Hollow is the University Archivist for the University of Alberta Archives. Prior to joining the University Archives in 2019, Anna spent six years as the Director of Advancement Records and Advancement FOIP Liaison Officer at the University of Alberta. Anna has 20 years of experience working in the field of information management and has worked in a variety of private and public sector organizations including the Provincial Archives of Alberta. Anna has served on the ACA in various capacities including Chair of the Government Records Special Interest Session, Chair of the Code of Conduct sub-committee, and member of the Institutional Membership Working Group. She has also volunteered for a variety of organizations in her community, with a particular focus on organizations that help women starting new careersAnna has a Bachelor of Arts degree with distinction and an Information Access and Protection of Privacy certificate from the University of Alberta and a Masters of Archival Studies degree from the University of British Columbia.

Secretary: Kaitlin Normandin

Kaitlin Normandin is a Government Records Archivist at Yukon Archives. She has over a decade of experience working with various cultural and research organizations, including Library and Archives Canada, Osgoode Hall Law School, the Jackman Humanities Institute, and a variety of small community museums. She has a Master of Information (Archives and Records Management concentration) and Master of Museum Studies degree from the University of Toronto. Kaitlin volunteers her time with the Yukon Council of Archives, Yukon Historical and Museums Association, as well as the Hidden Histories Society Yukon. She lives in Whitehorse, on the Traditional Territories of the Kwanlin Dün First Nation and the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council.

Treasurer: Andrea McCutcheon

Andrea McCutcheon works as an Archivist at the University of Toronto Archives and Records Management Services where she oversees the institution's records management program, acquires the school’s archival administrative records, and facilitates research access to the University of Toronto Archives. She has over ten years of experience working with corporate records in public and private institutions, and hold a Master of Information from the University of Toronto Faculty of Information (2011). Andrea chairs the Finance Committee and the ACA Foundation.

Director-at-Large: Andrew Chernevych 

Andrew Chernevych is an Archivist at the Galt Museum & Archives in Lethbridge, Alberta. Prior to the Galt, he had worked as a contract archivist at the Provincial Archives of Alberta and was employed by the City of Wetaskiwin Archives. His holds an MA in History from the Central European University (CEU) and an MA in Folklore from the University of Alberta. Andrew has served on the Governance Committee since 2019. Over the last fifteen years, Andrew Chernevych has been involved with the Archives Society of Alberta (ASA), serving on various committees and currently finishing his term as ASA President. Andrew is the board liaison to the Communications Committee.

Director-at-Large: Gillian Dunks

Gillian Dunks is Archives Arrangement and Description Librarian at McMaster University Library’s William Ready Division of Archives and Research Collections, where she has worked since 2018. She holds a Master of Arts in English Literature and a Master of Archival Studies, both from the University of British Columbia. She previously served on the ACA’s Education Committee and was on the executive team of the ACA student chapter at UBC. Gillian is the board liaison to Student Chapters and ACA Special Interest Sections (SISs)

Director-at-Large: James Roussain

James Roussain currently is the Archivist, Outreach and Instruction, at the John M. Kelly Library at the University of St. Michael’s College in the University of Toronto, a position he has held since 2016. Previously, James worked at Scotiabank, where he was involved in the maintenance and deployment of the corporate records management program. In his current role, James assists students with their research, exposes students to the treasures in the Kelly Library’s Special Collections, and teaches in the college’s Book and Media Studies program. James is a past president of the Archives Association of Ontario (AAO) and the Toronto Area Archivists’ Group (TAAG). He has served on committees with the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA) and has long been a dedicated member of the Canadian archival community. In his spare time, James is pursuing a Master of Education in Higher Education at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE). He holds a Master of Information from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Information. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software