News              Archivaria 

Members                   Foundation

Archivaria, the journal of the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA), is devoted to the scholarly investigation of archives in Canada and internationally.

Archivaria welcomes articles and other submissions exploring the history, nature, and theory of archives or the use of archives. The journal aims to be a bridge of communication among archivists, and between archivists and users of archives. The various issues serve well to indicate the breadth of possible subjects relating to archives: various media and their evolution and characteristics; theoretical problems; practical solutions; new fields of history (and related disciplines), and new kinds of documentation being explored by users; new technological developments; legal and ethical concerns; the history of archives, individual archivists, and archival trends; the analysis of record-keeping practices over time and space; the relationship of archivists to other information management professionals; and much else.

Archivaria is published semi-annually in spring and fall with grateful acknowledgement for assistance provided by the University of Toronto and the Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre.

Archivaria is available by print or online subscription. Reprints of published articles as well as back issues are also available. 

Individual and institutional members of ACA receive two print copies of Archivariaas part of their membership benefits. Please ensure your mailing address is up to date and that if you wish to continue accessing Archivaria online you opt out.

All categories of members of the ACA automatically receive online access to the journal.

Archivaria Editorial Team

To contact any of the members of the Archivaria Editorial Team, please use the following links:

Editorial Board

  • Catherine A. Bailey, Library and Archives Canada (retired)
  • Mya Ballin, Independent Scholar
  • James Lowry, City University of New York
  • Jennifer Douglas, University of British Columbia
  • Kathryn Harvey, University of Guelph
  • Shadrack Katuu, United Nations Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS)
  • Rebecka Sheffield, Independent Scholar
  • Heather Bidzinski, University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software