Archivaria                Contact us

Members                   Volunteer 

ACA Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the legal authority for the Association of Canadian Archivists. The members of the Board act in a position of trust for the community and is responsible for the effective governance of the organization. The ACA Board includes a minimum of 6 members, including:

  • President
  • Vice-President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Director-at-Large (1)
  • Director-at-Large (2)
  • Director-at-Large (3)

Each elected Board members serves a two-year term. In 2020 the elections were staggered. The President, Treasurer, and Director-at-Large (1 & 3) are elected in even years (2024, 2026, 2028); and the Vice-President, Secretary, and Director-at-Large (2) are elected in odd years (2025, 2027, 2029).

For a full list of Board positions and descriptions, see here.

For a list of past Boards of Directors, see here.

2023 - 2024 Board of Directors

President: Erica Hernández-Read

Erica Hernández-Read,  has been an archivist with the Northern BC Archives and Special Collections at the University of Northern British Columbia since 2006. She earned both her BA in Anthropology and her Master's degree in Archival Studies from UBC and has spent the last 20 years working in the fields of archives and artifactual collections management. Erica advocates for a participatory and community-archiving approach to knowledge building. She is the co-Chair of the Response to the Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Task Force of the Steering Committee on Canada's Archives, and a member of the Indiginization Program Steering Committee.

Vice President: Angela Fornelli

Angela Fornelli has been an archivist since 2007, beginning first as the Archives Assistant and working her way to City Archivist with the City of Wetaskiwin in Alberta. Throughout her career she has worked in Alberta, Yukon Territory, Saskatchewan, and Ontario as a working archivist in both private and government archives. She was briefly on the board of the Archives Society of Alberta as Treasurer and has been an active member on various committees with the ACA.

Currently she is the Co-Chair of the Municipal Archives Special Interest Section and is a member of the Conference Planning Committee. Through her work and from being a Co-Chair and working for various levels of government she has garnered an understanding of and experience in managing and leading teams, parliamentary proceedings, as well as Board governance, finance, and leading programs. She obtained her MSc in Archives and Records Management (International) through the University of Dundee in 2015.

She is a firm believer in supporting members through learning opportunities, career development, and in continuing to build an active and engaged membership. Angela is currently the Manager of Corporate Records and Archival Services as well as the Municipal Archivist for the City of Kawartha Lakes in Ontario.  

Secretary: Alexandra Mills

Alexandra Mills (she/her) is the Special Collections Archivist at Concordia University Library, located on the unceded Indigenous lands of the Kanien’kehá:ka Nation in Tiohtiá:ke/Montreal. She holds a Master of Library and Information Studies, with a specialization in archives, from the School of Information Studies at McGill University (2013) and a Master of Arts in art history from Concordia University (2010). Alexandra served on the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA) Professional Development from 2017 to 2021 and has been a member of the Governance Committee since 2022. Currently, Alexandra is the Board liaison for the Membership committee. She began her term on the ACA Board of Directors as Secretary in July 2023.

Treasurer: Kyle Pugh

Kyle Pugh is the Ontario Regional Councils Archivist at the United Church of Canada. Prior to joining the United Church Archives, he worked as the Archives Processing Librarian at McMaster University Library, an Assistant Archivist at the Wellington County Museum and Archives, and an Intern at the University of Toronto's Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library. He holds a Master of Information from the University of Toronto (2021), and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in History from Trent University (2019).

Kyle is the Chair for the Financial Review Committee and the ACA Foundation. He is a Board Liaison to the Conference Planning Committee, and also sits on the ACA Membership Committee, where he is a coordinator for the Mentorship Program.

Image of Andrew Chernevych, Director at Large, ACA Board of Directors, 2020 - 2024Director-at-Large: Andrew Chernevych 

Andrew Chernevych is an Archivist at the Galt Museum & Archives in Lethbridge, Alberta. Prior to the Galt, he had worked as a contract archivist at the Provincial Archives of Alberta and was employed by the City of Wetaskiwin Archives. His holds an MA in History from the Central European University (CEU) and an MA in Folklore from the University of Alberta. Andrew has served on the Governance Committee since 2019. Over the last fifteen years, Andrew Chernevych has been involved with the Archives Society of Alberta (ASA), serving on various committees and currently finishing his term as ASA President. Andrew is the board liaison to the Communications Committee.

Director-at-Large: John Richan

John Richan is the Digital Archivist at the Concordia University Records Management and Archives department in Montreal, Quebec. As part of his role at Concordia, John oversees the digital preservation program and activities linked to the Digital Preservation Lab.

 John has over 15 years’ experience working at three different Canadian university archives in various roles. He obtained his MLIS degree (Archives Specialization) from the McGill School of Information Studies in 2014. John currently acts as the Board liaison to the ACA Student Chapters as well as being involved with the on-going ACA website renewal project. Since 2022, he has also sat on the Board of Directors for the ACA Foundation. 

Director-at-Large: Amanda Oliver

Amanda Oliver (she/her) is the Head, Archives and Special Collections at Wilfrid Laurier University, located on the Haldimand tract, the traditional territory of the Neutral, Anishnaabe and Haudenosaunee peoples. She holds a Master of Library and Information Studies, with a concentration in archives, from McGill University and a Master of Arts in Preventive Conservation from Northumbria University. Amanda served on the ACA’s Professional Development Committee from 2017-2021 and the Program Team from 2018-2021.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software