Archivaria            Contact us

   Members             Volunteer

  • HOME
  • 2020 ACA Awards

2020 Association of Canadian Archivists Awards

The Association of Canadian Archivists members recently celebrated and expressed our gratitude to remarkable members of our community at our annual Awards Ceremony, held online September 29, 2020

Membership Recognition Award - Emily Lonie

The ACA Membership Recognition Award is given annually to any individual who has made and continues to make significant contributions to the ACA and to the development of the archival profession. This year’s award goes to Emily Lonie of the City of Coquitlam Archives for her tremendous leadership as Chair of the ACA’s 45th Annual Conference Program Team. Emily led the transition from an in-person to virtual conference, going above and beyond expectations as a Program Chair, spending hundreds of hours on the conference, learning the intricacies of Zoom, and effectively organizing a conference, not once but twice. Emily showed us that we can successfully hold a virtual conference and her work will have an indelible impact on the ACA – and how our conferences are held- for years to come.

New Professional Award – Moska Rokay

The purpose of the New Professional Award is to recognize the accomplishments, dedication, and spirit of those new to the field of archives. This award highlights the leadership qualities of an early career professional. Moska Rokay of the Institute of Islamic Studies at the University of Toronto is this year’s winner for her professional work and contributions to the archival profession. As a student at the UofT Faculty of Information, Moska was on the executive of the ACA Student Chapter and co-founded the MISC Diversity Working Group. She also helped establish the BIPOC Forum at this year’s ACA conference. Moska has delivered many informative talks at various local, national, and international conferences. Colleagues know Moska as a knowledgeable, engaging, and passionate expert in her field and seek her out - a remarkable achievement for a new professional.

Honorary Archivist Award – Ian Milligan

The purpose of the Honorary Archivist award is to recognize individuals whom the ACA wishes to honour for their contribution to the archival profession. Ian Milligan is this year’s recipient for his research on how historians can use web archives, as well as the impact of digital sources on historical practices. Ian is an associate professor of history at the University of Waterloo, where he teaches courses on the history of the Internet, digital history, and Canadian history. With his passion for digital information and respect for archival labour and methods, Ian has proven himself an indispensable archival ally.

Association of Canadian Archivists Fellow – Fred Farrell

The highest recognition award, ACA Fellows are celebrated and acknowledged for their long-standing service to the association and to the Canadian archival community. Fred Farrell of the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick was made as a 2020 ACA Fellow for his longstanding, unquestionable, unwavering, unconditional commitment to the Canadian archival system and the professionals who work in it for more than forty years. Fred has served the archival community in a wide variety of roles in local, provincial, and national groups including the Council of Archives New Brunswick, the Canadian Council of Archives, the Association of Canadian Archivists, the Provincial and Territorial Archivists Council, and the Steering Committee on Canada’s Archives. He has been a tireless, vocal advocate for archives and archivists at every opportunity, whether that be during a one-on-one conversation with a middle school student at the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick, or making an impassioned argument for meaningful funding to all levels of government.

Association of Canadian Archivists Fellow – Raymond Frogner

We are pleased to induct Raymond Frogner of the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation as the second 2020 ACA Fellow. Raymond has won the prestigious Archiviaria W.K. Lambe Prize twice - in 2011 for “Innocent Legal Fictions’: Archival Convention and the North Saanich Treaty of 1852” and in 2016 for "Lord, Save Us from the Et Cetera of the Notary": Archival Appraisal, Local Custom, and Colonial Law”. But Raymond’s interest goes beyond the academic study of archival records. He actively works with Indigenous communities to ensure that their histories and traditions receive the utmost respect from archival institutions. Raymond represents the next generation of Canadian archival thinkers and practitioners, challenging traditional archival and legal theory and bringing long-held archival principles into the age of reconciliation.

Outreach and Advocacy Award

In August 2019, the Canadian archival community lost a remarkable ambassador. Larry Dohey was director of programming and public engagement at The Rooms in St. John’s, Newfoundland. Larry volunteered with countless national, provincial and local boards, organizations and causes. He was knowledgeable and passionate about Newfoundland and Labrador history, being the author of the online blog "Archival Moments," and the co-host of a regular weekly radio program – "Archival Moments". He was an outstanding representative for the work that archivists do. Larry lived and breathed a passion for archives and for the history of his beloved home. There are few archivists who have done more to raise awareness about archives in such meaningful ways. And so, I am very pleased to announce that the ACA Outreach and Advocacy Award has been renamed the Larry Dohey Outreach and Advocacy Award in honour of our wonderful colleague and dear friend.

Our Community

Public Awareness & Advocacy



Contact Us

Suite 1912-130 Albert Street  

Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G4

Tel:  613-383-2009 x100


ACA Ask an Archivist

The ACA office is located on the unceded, unsurrendered Territory of the Anishinaabe Algonquin Nation whose presence here reaches back to time immemorial.

Privacy & Confidentiality  -  Code of Ethics & Professional Conduct

Copyright © 2023 - The Association of Canadian Archivists

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software