Association of Canadian Archivists logo

Scope and Content

Monthly ACA Newsletter

January 2022, Volume 3, Issue 1

Click here if you are having trouble reading the newsletter.


Scope and Content is issued the first Thursday of each month. If you have any comments or feedback, please contact the Communications Committee.

Vice-President's Message

Happy New Year! As we begin 2022, I find it hard to believe that I am six months into my term as Vice-President. I have learned so much over the past few months and at times have felt like I am drinking from a firehose. I continue to be impressed by the knowledge and dedication of our members and volunteers, and I feel fortunate to be part of a community filled with such passionate individuals. 


Speaking of volunteers, the ACA is always looking for new people to provide their time and expertise. We have several committees, task forces, working groups, and teams who do such great work, none of which would be possible without our exceptional volunteers. Take a look at our Volunteer page for current openings, and please consider signing up. We encourage participation from ACA members at any stage of their careers and from all backgrounds.  


The Nominations and Awards Committee will also be putting out a call for award nominations in the coming weeks. Please be sure to keep an eye out for details and nominate someone you feel worthy of an award.  


Finally, we are only six months away from the 2022 ACA Annual Conference – "UnSettled Archives: Redefining Archival Power." This first ever hybrid conference will take place June 15-18, 2022 at the University of British Columbia. The ACA Program Team and Host Team have been working hard to develop a program and events that can be offered in person and online. Please keep an eye on the ACA website for more details. 


I would like to end this message by saying thank you to everyone who has helped and supported me over the past six months. To my fellow Board members, ACA Secretariat, volunteers on the Committees, and ACA members, I look forward to working with all of you in 2022! 


Warm regards, 


Anna Gibson Hollow, ACA Vice-President


ACA 2022 Conference

ACA 2022: UnSettled: Redefining Archival Power

City: Vancouver 

Dates: June 15 – 18, 2022 at the University of British Columbia 

Format: Hybridin person and online

Call for Student Papers due January 17

The 2022 Conference Program Team is planning to give a much greater platform to the voices of students who are engaging with ideas about memory work, archives, etc. It wants to highlight the perspectives of students in archival studies and also provide a more interdisciplinary focus. For the first time, two conference slots have been set aside for student panel sessions to showcase a number of perspectives and disciplines, with a focus on emerging voices and new ideas.

Are you an archives or information studies student member undertaking research on archival work with a fresh set of eyes, challenging paradigms, or integrating and examining new directions in archival practice? Do you have work or a paper you would like to share with your professional community? Do you want to build your skills in public speaking and participate in a rich exchange of ideas? 

Three submissions from this call will be selected by the Program Team for funding. Successful applicants who are ACA student members will receive a monetary award and complementary conference registration. Submissions not selected for the awarded session will be considered for the general program.  

The ACA 2022 Program Team wants to hear from you! We are interested in all topics; however, please consider the original call for papers: Archives are changing and transforming!

Information about the conference and student paper submission form is available on the ACA website. 


Emerging Voices - Submissions
Two Sisters image for UnSettled: Redifining Archival Power

Image credit: Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) they are known as Ch'ich'iyúyElxwíkn (“Twin Sisters” or “Two Sisters”). Frank, Leonard, 1870-1944. “The Lions.” P. Vancouver : Importex Company, 1919. Original Format: University of British Columbia. Library. Rare Books and Special Collections. Uno Langmann Family Collection of B.C. Photographs. UL_1628_0125. Web. 8 Sept. 2021. 

New Editor of In the Field

The ACA Communications Committee is excited to announce that Rebecca Murray has taken on the role of editor of the ACA blog, In the Field. Rebecca is a Senior Reference Archivist in the Public Services Branch at Library and Archives Canada. She holds an MA in Canadian Studies from Carleton University where she thought and wrote a LOT about war memorials and memorialization of trauma in online spaces. Rebecca has been on the ACA Communications Committee and has been editing for In the Field since its inception in 2019. She’s also been a regular contributor to the LAC Discover Blog, including a post about butter wrappers. She’s got lots of fun ideas for In the Field this year and hopes to bring them to life with your help and support. Read. Write. Repeat! In her spare time, Rebecca is a voracious reader, a little free library steward, and a mum to two kids and one adorable poodle. 

The Communications Committee would also like to express a tremendous thanks to the outgoing editor, François Dansereau, who launched the blog in December 2019 and developed this new platform for the ACA and its communities over the last two years. We are glad that François will be continuing to support the blog as a member of its team.

Blog Submission

Membership

Early bird renewal prize winners!  Thank you for your support!


Congratulations to: Tania Aldred, Melanie Hardbattle, Susan Hart, Robin Keirstead, Shamin Malmas, Pamela Miller, Jessica Nichol, Bronwyn Smyth, Kelly Turner, and Bonnie Woelk.

In the fall, there were 33 new student members. There were four winners for the draw thanks to a donation from an early bird winner to the students! Congratulations to: Adam Cavanaugh and Abbi Asokan, as well as two other student members.

As we are all navigating challenging terrain at home and in our places of learning and work, we appreciate you making time to ensure your membership is up to date.

Membership Renewal

10% Carr McLean discount for Members: The Carr McLean discount is available for both individual and institutional ACA members for the entire membership year. This discount can be applied to any order over $100 and is non-transferrable. Contact the ACA Secretariat for the new discount code that will remain effective until December 31, 2022.

Proudly Canadian Carr McLean

Volunteering

Public Awareness and Advocacy Committee 

The Public Awareness and Advocacy Committee (PAAC) is seeking additional volunteer members-at-large! Do you have a passionate interest in equity and social justice issues? Or do changes to privacy or copyright legislation drive you round the bend? Or perhaps you are just tired of explaining the differences between an archivist and a librarian? Be an advocate, join the team, and let’s change the world. 

PAAC responds to requests for advocacy from Individual and Institutional Members, as well as issues arising with national and international scope, and is seeking members with expertise or interest in issues relevant to the records and archives profession or issues upon which the records and archives profession may have an impact. Positions will remain open until filled. Submit your online application here.

Professional Development Committee

The end of 2021 saw numerous members of the Professional Development Committee conclude their terms, or second terms in some cases: 

  • Alexandra Mills - 4 years of service 

  • Amanda Oliver - 4 years of service 

  • Greg Bak - 4 years of service 

  • Asen Ivanov - 2 years of service 

  • Gordon Burr - 2 years of service 

We were unspeakably fortunate to benefit from the enthusiasm, ingenuity, and guidance of this fabulous fivesome. The expansion of our programming could not have happened without their efforts, and the PD Committee would like to express our profound gratitude to our departing members for generously sharing their time and expertise. 

In 2022, we are delighted to welcome two new members, Heather Walker and Sonia Dhaliwal. We look forward to the ways in which they will shape the future directions of the PD Committee. 

If you've done the math, we are still looking for volunteers! With an appreciative thanks to those who have submitted applications already – we will be reviewing them shortly.

New ACAF Board Members

The Association of Canadian Archivists Foundation (ACAF) is pleased to welcome Christina Nichols and Kyle Pugh to the Board! Christina and Kyle join Shannon Hodge, Daniel German, and Andrea McCutcheon.

The ACAF is a fundraising and fund granting charitable organization that has historically aimed to support the educational and research needs of the Canadian archival profession and continues to work to support the broader archival community’s educational and professional development pursuits.

ACAF Board Member, Kyle Pugh

ACAF Board Member, Christina Nichols

In Memoriam

The Canadian archival community mourns the loss of Lilly Ann Koltun: "After a valiant struggle with cancer, Lilly passed away peacefully on Sunday November 21, 2021. She is survived in love by her brother, Walter, her sister, Nadia, her nephews and nieces, Catherine, Alex, Andrew and Stephanie, by her many cousins, colleagues and friends and by her beloved cats, Weegee, Maggie, Wally and Emmy. Lilly loved her life as an interdisciplinary artist, a historian, an archivist, photographer, teacher and mentor. She loved her work as the Director General of the National Portrait Gallery of Canada, as an adjunct professor at Carleton University and as a director on the Board for the Ottawa Art Gallery."  From the Ottawa Citizen.

Archival Community News

This section includes information of interest to the archival community, from above and beyond the ACA. If there is news you'd like us to share, please forward it to the Communications Committee or fill out our communications form.

Public talk: Fire in the Archives: Tactical Pathways for Film Preservation in Brazil, presented by Vulnerable Media Lab. January 19, 2022, 4:00 – 6:00 PM (EST). Free and open to the public. Visit this website to register. On July 29, 2021, a fire ravaged the film storage of the Brazilian Cinemateca, in São Paulo, causing irreparable damage to the country’s memory and cultural history. According to many, however, that wasn’t a mere catastrophic incident. Other museal institutions in Brazil, such as the Museum of Portuguese Language and the National Museum, had recently met a similar fate. At that time, the Cinemateca itself had been kept empty and unmanaged by the Brazilian Federal Government for almost a year. Taken together, these situations indicate a criminal neglect with public institutions, demonstrating that challenges for film preservation encompass much more than material precarity. In Brazil, in particular, both the dismantling of cultural organizations and the erasure of national histories have been part of a long-term political program – a political program currently in power. How to deal with these surmounting threats for the future of audiovisual media? In this first panel of the Vulnerable Media Lab Speakers’ Series, specialists from different Brazilian institutions reflect upon the foretold tragedy of the Cinemateca and discuss tactical pathways for film preservation in adversarial conditions.

The Young Canada Works 2022-2023 campaign has launched! The Canadian Council of Archives (CCA) is pleased to announce that the 2022-2023 campaign for the Young Canada Works (YCW) program for heritage organizations in underway. This program is funded by the Department of Canadian Heritage (PCH), supporting the Government of Canada’s Youth Employment and Skills Strategy. All archival institutions, as well as libraries operating in English, can now apply online for short-term jobs for students (YCW in Heritage Organizations), and internships for graduates (YCW at Building Careers in Heritage) via the official YCW website. The application deadline for short-term student jobs (HO) and internships (BCH) is January 21, 2022. Please visit CCA’s website for more information.

LAC launches funding to support digitization efforts by First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Nation organizations: Library and Archives Canada (LAC) has officially launched the Listen, Hear Our Voices funding call for proposals to support First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Nation organizations in their efforts to digitize documentary heritage and enhance their digitization capacity. This initiative provides funding of up to $100,000 per project to eligible Indigenous nations, governments, and non-profit organizations to digitize existing documentary heritage related to Indigenous languages and cultures, and to help them build the skills, knowledge, and resources they need to carry out this work in their communities. This funding call expands upon the eligibility criteria of the previous calls to include the digitization of textual records and photographs, in addition to audiovisual recordings. The deadline is January 28, 2022.

Call for papers on archives and climate change: The International Council on Archives' journal, Comma, invites submissions for a special issue dedicated to the topic of "Archives and Climate Change." The deadline to submit proposals is February 28, 2022.

ICA Conference: The International Council on Archives has released their call for papers for the ICA Roma Conference 2022. The #ICARoma2022 theme is "Archives: Bridging the Gap," and proposals may fall into any of the following six categories: panel discussion, paper presentation, lightning talk, poster, workshop, and alternative format. The submission deadline is March 21, 2022.

Kudos! 


Congratulations to Krista McCracken, who has received a Community Builders Award for education from SooToday for their work with the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre since 2010.

Krista McCraken, Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre

Congratulations to Chris Kotecki on his retirement from the Archives of Manitoba, where he worked since 1984.

Job Opportunities

Submit your job opportunity here and it will be posted to the ACA website. We will also share this opportunity on our social media channels.

Special Collections Archivist (Assignment: Chinese Canadian Archive), Permanent, Full Time - Toronto Public Library 

Deadline: January 14, 2022

Special Collections Archivist (Assignment: Chinese Canadian Archive), Temporary,  Full Time - Toronto Public Library 

Deadline: January 14, 2022

Archivist/Analyst (2 positions), Archives of Manitoba 

Deadline: January 16, 2022

Information Management Specialist, BC Pension Corporation 

Deadline: January 17, 2022


Paid Summer 2022 Internship for Graduate Student, The Metropolitan Museum of Art Archives 

Deadline: January 19, 2022

Reference Archivist (term), Yukon Archives

Deadline Extended: January 19, 2022

Archivist, BC Public Service – Ministry of Citizens' Services 

Deadline: January 24, 2022 


Intermediate Information Analyst, BC Pension Corporation Deadline: January 26, 2022

Archivist I - Digital Preservation, County of Simcoe

Deadline: January 28, 2022

Archives Reference Coordinator, County of Simcoe 

Deadline: January 28, 2022

Information Schedule Developer and Reporting, BC Public Service.

Deadline: February 2, 2022


Follow the ACA on our social media channels:

Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram

Do you have news you’d like the ACA to share via its social media channels? The Communications Committee has created a form you can use to give us the details! 

Contact Us

Suite 1912-130 Albert Street

Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G4

Tel: 613-234-6977

Email: aca@archivists.ca

www.archivists.ca


The ACA office is located on the unceded, unsurrendered Territory of the Anishinaabe Algonquin Nation whose presence here reaches back to time immemorial.