News                   Join 

Members                   Contact 

Organization Structure 

Board of Directors 


Office Staff

Awards Committee


The ACA Awards Committee is responsible for soliciting, promoting and adjudicating the Fellows of the Association of Canadian Archivists Award, the Member Recognition Award, and the ACA Honorary Archivist Award.

A listing of past Award recipients is also available.

Please visit the ACA Foundation page for information about the Ancestry Award.

To nominate a member for an award please fill out a nomination form. 2019 nominations close Tuesday 30th of April.  The Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA) is pleased to invite submissions for 2019 awards.  In addition to existing awards, the ACA is excited to announce the creation of two new awards: Advocacy and Outreach and New Professionals Award. See details for nominations below.  The Fellows Criteria is currently under review and will accept nominations in 2020.

Committee Members:

 Name Position
 Heather Dean
 Michelle Spelay
 Bryan Corbett
 Susan Hart
 Karen Ng
 Rebecka Sheffield
 Board Liaison

ACA Awards

ACA Member Recognition Awards

The purpose of this award, given annually to any individual, affiliated association or institution who is a member of the Association in good standing, is:

  • To identify and honour members of the Association who have made significant contributions to the ACA and to the archival profession;
  • To raise the standard of practice within the profession by recognizing and rewarding excellence;
  • To promote interest in the archival profession in Canada by acknowledging publicly the contributions made by individual archivists.

Member Recognition Award Criteria

ACA Honorary Archivist Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals whom the ACA wishes to honour for their contribution to the archival profession. The Honorary Archivist entitles recipients to attend the Association’s events, including the annual conference, AGM (non-voting ), and workshops at individual member’s rates.

Honorary Archivist may be awarded to any individual, normally not a member of the ACA nor involved in the archival profession.

Honorary Archivist Award Criteria

ACA Advocacy and Outreach Award*

The purpose of this award is to identify and honour members of the Association whose work has raised public awareness of archives and recordkeeping and to recognize, celebrate, and encourage outstanding examples of advocacy and outreach within archives and recordkeeping.

The Advocacy and Outreach Award may be awarded annually to any individual or organization who is a member of the Association in good standing.

Advocacy and Outreach Award

ACA New Professionals Award*

The purpose of this award is to recognize the accomplishments, dedication and spirit of those new to the field of archival practice (including professionals working in archives, records management, privacy, and preservation). This award highlights the leadership qualities of an early career professional.

Any member in good standing who meets the eligibility criteria may be nominated for an Emerging Professional Award.

• Current members of the Board of Directors; Governance Committee; Awards Committee; Coordinators and Association employees are not eligible.

New Professionals Award

*New Award for 2019

ACA Fellows

The highest recognition award, Fellows are celebrated and acknowledged for their long-standing service to the Association and the Canadian archival community.

The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals whom the ACA wishes to honour for their distinguished service to the archival profession. Fellows retain this distinction for life, provided they maintain their membership with the Association.

Fellows of the ACA are chosen based on longstanding membership in and demonstrated commitment to the ACA, extensive professional experience in archives or related fields, demonstrated achievement in the archival world, which may include leadership in the field, scholarship, and/or other outstanding contribution and which has had a cumulative impact on the archival field.

The Fellows category was instituted in 2009, transitioning from the category of Honorary Members which was in place from 1979. Between 1979 to 2008, the Association of Canadian Archivists recognized the following individuals for their distinguished service to the archival profession. These individuals are now recognized as the Founding Fellows of the ACA.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software