President's 2016 welcome message

It feels unbelievable that a year has passed since I began my term as President of ACA. In that year I think our association has accomplished a lot and that is all due to the dedicated work of our volunteers and office staff. Among some of our accomplishments this year were our contributions to the Canadian Archival Systems Working Group and the recent launch of "Canada's Archives - A New Blueprintour major updating of governance policies, our advocacy work, and our review of Archivaria's business practices (an ad hoc working group chaired by Bob McIntosh) to make it a more sustainable association benefit.  There are only some of our activities.

I want to welcome everyone to the new year and take this opportunity to thank some of the outgoing volunteers--notably our Vice-President Michael Gourlie (Provincial Archives of Alberta), Secretary Karen Buckley (U of Calgary), and Director-at-Large Heather Beattie (Hudson Bay Company's Archives). As well--and already noted--Heather MacNeil (U of Toronto) finished her term as General Editor of Archivaria. We owe all these volunteers many thanks for their work.

As we move into 2016, we have exciting work ahead, and those who will be providing oversight include our Board members for the coming year:

  * President: Kathryn Harvey (U of Guelph)

  * Vice-President: Jordan Bass (U of Manitoba)

  * Treasurer: Jennifer Roberts (Yukon Archives)

  * Secretary: Patti Harper (Carleton U)

  * Director-at-Large: Krisztina Laszlo (UBC)

  * Director-at-Large: Ian Burnett (Yukon Archives) 

Amongst the activities occupying our focus this year are contributing to discussions as part of Library and Archives Canada's Stakeholder's  Forum; participating in the committee implementing the recommendations coming from the work of Canadian Archival System Working Group (with representatives from Library and Archives Canada, Association des archivistes du Quebec, Canadian Council of Archives, and Council of Provincial and Territorial Archivists); as well as engaging in advocacy opportunities as issues arise. We are also continuing our review of Archivaria's business practices to make it more sustainable.

We have a number of active committees all contributing to strengthen our Canadian archival system. I'd like to name individually all those who volunteer, but as you can see from the Leadership Team**list linked from our Governance page, we're some 70+ strong! 

In brief, though here is a list of those chairing our various committees:

  • Conference Host Team - Shannon Hodge (Jewish Public Library Archives)

  • Conference Progaram Team - Rodney Carter (Religious Hospitallers of St. Joseph)
  • Communications Committee - Amanda Tomé (U of Toronto)

  • Governance Committee - Jordan Bass (U of Manitoba)

  • Membership Committee - Raegan Swanson (Council of Archives New Brunswick)*

  • Outreach Committee - Lindsay Osmun (CIBC Archives)

  • Professional Learning Committee - Karen Buckley (U of Calgary)

  • Online Education Committee - Cheryl Avery (U of Saskatchewan)


And last (but definitely not least!) we welcome Jennifer Douglas as the incoming *General Editor of /Archivaria/*.

On behalf of the Board, Committees, and staff of the ACA I wish everyone a fulfilling and productive year and hope to see you in Montreal from June 2-4, 2016 <> for our always stimulating annual conference.

Please do get in touch with us if there is an advocacy issue that you think ACA should address or--better yet--if you want to volunteer for the Board of one of our many committees!




Kathryn Harvey

President, Association of Canadian Archivists