Archivatopia results

"Archivatopia", ACA's 39th Annual Conference - June 26-28, 2014 - Fairmont Empress Hotel, Victoria, British Columbia

With events in beautiful Victoria, B.C. now completed, we would like to share the following highlights from the Conference and related activities with you. 

In total, 237 delegates attended the ACA Annual Conference, with 200 delegates attending the opening reception at Government House on Wednesday, while 144 were on hand for the closing Dinner & Dance, Saturday evening.  Forty-three participants attended the two pre-conference workshops, and the social activities were well-attended. 

At the Award Luncheon, Luciana Duranti was welcomed as an ACA Fellow, and Duncan Grant was presented a framed print on behalf of the members and Board, in recognition of his 10-years service to the Association. Heather MacNeil, General Editor, announced the following 2014 Archivaria Awards:  

  • Archivaria is pleased to announce that Creighton Barrett has been awarded the Hugh A. Taylor Prize for 2014 for his article "Respect Which Fonds? Personal Archives and Family Businesses in Nova Scotia” in Archivaria 76 (Fall 2013)  The citation reads: In an insightful and cogently argued article, Barrett draws upon other disciplines to introduce the concept of ‘work identity’ to address the application of archival principles to aggregations of records that document both personal and corporate entities.
  • Archivaria is pleased to announce that Jennifer Douglas has been awarded the W. Kaye Lamb Prize for 2014 for her article “What We Talk About When We Talk About Original Order in Writers’ Archives" in Archivaria 76 (Fall 2013)  The citation reads: Douglas’ article is a fine combination of empirical research and clear theoretical reasoning that deepens our understanding of the challenges associated with original order, with implications that extend beyond writers’ archives.

At the Annual General Meeting, the following individuals were elected to serve on the ACA Board of Directors.  The term of office for all three begins January 1, 2015 through to December 31, 2016.  During the remaining months of 2014, they will participate in Board and Committee meetings to become familiar with their respective roles and current initiatives as well as plans for the coming two years. 

  • Kathryn Harvey, Head, Archival and Special Collections, University of Guelph Library was elected to the position of ACA President
  • Jennifer Roberts, Yukon Archives, was elected to the position of Secretary-Treasurer
  • Ian Burnett, Yukon Archives, was elected to the position of Director-at-Large

In the annual East - West Ballgame, the western team outperformed the East to reclaim the Doughty Cup.  

Additional information from the 2014 Conference will be available in the coming days.